Varsity Soccer

31 Mar

It’s been quite a while since soccer season started, and we had a few games and lots of practices. Yesterday we had our game against SIS, and we had our first victory 4:2! We were very happy that we brought success, and that we played till the end. It was a happy thing that we won because our main coaches had a family issue, so she had to go back to Canada, so she wasn’t there for us when we played the game. It was the first time our assistant coach actually coached us and had practices with us. It was very touching because although it was passed midnight where she was, she came on skype to talk to us. I could see how much our coach think about us, and how much she love us. I was about to cry when she came online, and talked to us. When I was playing, I really played for our coaches, who really think about us a lot.

During practices we still run as a team, and every time I run I get so tired. I always think about stopping and walking slowly till I catch my breathe, but when I think of walking, then it seems like I’m dragging the whole team down. It’s like I’m not the only one who’s tired, and the only one who wants to walk. So every time I think of giving up, I think of our team members, and how much running can improve our running on actual games. I’ve noticed that the running did actually help us in the games.

When we’re against aggressive and skilled teams, we have to run a lot. I, as a midfielder, have to run the most, up and down the field. And it’s like I’m always out of breathe when I’m playing the game. However, if it wasn’t for the runs we did every practice, then I wouldn’t have been able to run that much during the games, and bring success!

I think the coaches have had a great influence on myself and our whole team. Our coaches say they don’t care about winning or losing, and that’s what I think too. Games are about how hard we try, and how much success we’ve brought as a team. Just reaching our goals during the game is total success. Before I was on the team, when I played soccer games, I only thought of winning the game. When we were losing, I’d kind of give up because I had the thought that we’d lose. This brought our whole team down. However, now that I know that winning is not the important thing about games, I actually try till the end.

Tomorrow we have a game against SFS tomorrow, and I’m not going to lie that SFS is a very skilled team. However, our team is going to play till the end, and give them all we got.

 

I love soccer 🙂

Leave a Reply

